Movement of dogs, cats and ferrets from countries outside the EU where the rabies situation is documented and monitored

The rules apply if you have been on holiday abroad with your own dog, cat or ferret, if you buy a dog, cat or ferret for yourself abroad or if you buy a dog, cat or ferret abroad and then sell on in Sweden for example.

The rules for the movement of dogs, cats and ferrets into Sweden differ depending on which country the animals come from. The rabies situation in the country governs which rules apply. The rules on this page apply to these countries:

Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Aruba, Ascension, Australia, Bahrain, Barbados, Belarus, Bermuda, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bonaire, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Chile, Curaçao, Falkland Islands, Fiji, French Polynesia, United Arab Emirates, Hong Kong, Jamaica Japan, Canada, Northern Macedonia, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Montserrat, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Russia, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saint Helena, Singapore, Saint Eustatius and Saba, Sint-Maarten, Great Britain (excluding Northern Ireland, but including the Channel Islands Guernsey, Jersey and the Isle of Man), Taiwan, Trinidad and Tobago, USA (including Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, American Samoa and US Virgin Islands), Vanuatu, Wales and Futuna.

Some of these countries have cases of rabies but not in all. All of these countries are noted to have effective routines to detect rabies, according to reports from the World Organization for Animal Health (OIE)... [read more]