DEDICATED TO SAFE AND HUMANE ANIMAL TRANSPORT - WORLDWIDE

   Login  
slider-2.png
etihad-stalls-2.png
ehs-2.png
slider-3.png
slider-1.png
etihad-stalls-1.jpg
giantpanda.png
aviagen-1.jpg
aviagen-truck.jpg
1668946648628.jpeg

AALAS/FELASA Transportation Working Group Outputs

 

November 8, 2022 at 10:00 am (MDT) / 12 pm (EDT) / 6 pm (CEST) / 2 am (AEST)

registerIn 2014, FELASA and AALAS together established a joint working group remitted to make recommendations related to good laboratory animal transport practices. In a context of increasing demand for transport across borders from breeders to end-users, increasing exchange of animal lines between laboratories and increasing pressure from animal rights groups against the supply chain, this initiative was seeking to provide insight and clarity to the intricacies of animal transportation and the complex regulatory environment. Searching the extensive literature, collecting experience from key supply chain stakeholders, and seeking animal welfare experts’ input the working group developed specialized content for the laboratory animal community.

To make relevant information readily accessible to a wide audience, a specifically designed website was recommended for community members to easily access, understand, and apply the different steps for compliant, safe, and efficient transport planning and execution between point of origin and research facility.

This webinar will review the body of work completed and detail the design of the recommended website enabling transport planning for the laboratory animal communities of AALAS and FELASA.

Speakers

  • Nicolas Dudoignon, D.V.M., Ph.D.

    Nicolas Dudoignon, D.V.M., Ph.D.

    Nicolas Dudoignon, D.V.M., Ph.D. is Head of Global Compliance and Policy, Translational in vivo Models, at Sanofi, where he is accountable for animal care and use at Sanofi sites and by external partners for Sanofi Pharma R&D.

    Dr. Dudoignon received his veterinary medical degree from the University Paul Sabatier, Toulouse, France and his doctorate degree in toxicology from the University René Descartes, Paris, France.

    He also owns a French veterinary specialisation diploma in laboratory animal science and medicine.

    He has extensive experience serving as the Attending Veterinarian on the ethics committees for several institutions. He has held several leadership positions, including President of ESLAV, the European Society of Laboratory Animal Veterinarians, and Chair of the Board of EARA (European Animal Research Association). Dr. Dudoignon currently serves an ad hoc Specialist for AAALAC International and VP for animal protection at GIRCOR (Groupe Interprofessionnel de Reflexion et de Communication sur la Recherche, France).

    In these different roles, he constantly showed interest in the issues related to the welfare of animals during transport and has been leading the joint AALAS-FELASA working group on this matter.

x